State Bar of Texas
June 17, 2013
Contact: Lowell Brown,, (800) 204-2222, ext. 1715 or (512) 427-1715

Austin Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

DALLAS – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 20-21 at the Hilton Anatole. The following Austin individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

Martha Dickie, Presidential Citation, for her tremendous work in drafting the amicus brief filed by the State Bar of Texas in In re McCann and for her continued commitment to the lawyers and citizens of Texas.

Jo Ann Merica, Presidential Citation, for her continued leadership of Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans and for her ongoing efforts to uphold the strong ideals and core values of the State Bar of Texas. And the Colonel Bryan S. Spencer Award, for her outstanding service to the military community and veterans of the State of Texas.

Texas Lawyers’ Assistance Program, Presidential Citation, for being there to answer the cries for help from Texas lawyers, their spouses, and their colleagues.

Texas Bar Foundation, Presidential Citation, for its commitment to furthering the administration of justice and educating the public about the third branch of government by funding organizations who have the desire but not the funds.

Williamson County Bar Association, Star of Achievement, Award of Merit, and Outstanding Partnership Award.

Robert Rodriguez, Corporate Counsel Pro Bono Award, presented by the Texas Access to Justice Commission.

Sally Pretorius, Outstanding First-Year Director, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Dustin M. Howell, Keith L. Krueger Leadership Award, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Clint Harbour and Zachary Hall, President’s Award of Merit, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Claude Ducloux, Lola Wright Foundation Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation.

Douglas W. Alexander, Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation.

Jay W. Hurst, Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the American Indian Law Section.

Hon. Dale Wainwright, Drum Major for Justice Award, presented by the African-American Lawyers Section.

Manny Newberger, Richard Alderman Award for CLE Excellence, presented by the Consumer & Commercial Law Section.

Bruce Bower, Noble Award for Lifetime Achievement, presented by the Poverty Law Section.

Abby Frank, Impact Award, presented by the Poverty Law Section.

Professor Stanley M. Johanson, Texas Tax Legend Award, presented by the Taxation Section.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.