State Bar of Texas
June 7, 2012

Contact: Public Information Office, 800.204.2222 x 1800

Austin Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

HOUSTON — Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, June 14–15, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

The following Austin individuals will be honored:

David C. Courreges, Nancy L. Garms Memorial Award, for outstanding contributions to law-focused education.

Lt. Kimberly Bustos, Honorary Leon Jaworski Award for Teaching Excellence.

Austin Bar Association, Award of Merit and Outstanding Partnership Award for its Wildfire Legal Resources Team.

Dustin M. Howell, TYLA President’s Award of Merit.

Steve McConnico, Ronald D. Secrest Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation.

Hon. Lee Yeakel, Samuel Pessarra Outstanding Jurist Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award honors an active federal or state judge who exhibits an exceptionally outstanding reputation for competency, efficiency and integrity.

John C. Fleming, Justice Frank G. Evans Award, presented by the Alternative Dispute Resolution Section.

Layla D. Milligan, Romina L. Mulloy-Bossio Achievement Award, presented by the Bankruptcy Law Section.

Scott N. Houston, Outstanding Government Lawyer, presented by the Government Law Section.

Beth Mitchell and Karen Miller, Impact Award in Poverty Law, presented by the Poverty Law Section.

The Texas Civil Rights Project (Director Jim Harrington), Pete Torres, Jr. Community Service Award, Hispanic Issues Section.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

# # #

State Bar of Texas | 1414 Colorado St. | Austin, Texas 78701 |