Untitled Document

State Bar of Texas
Feb. 14, 2012

Contact:  Kim Davey, kdavey@texasbar.com, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

TYLA Names Shivali Sharma of Texarkana and Kristy Sims Piazza of Plano as President-elect Candidates

AUSTIN – Attorneys Shivali Sharma of Texarkana and Kristy Sims Piazza of Plano and will face one another in an election this spring to become president-elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Shivali Sharma is a permanent staff attorney for the Sixth Court of Appeals in Texarkana, where she handles complex appellate issues involving many areas of civil and criminal law. She has served on the TYLA board as a vice-chair or co-chair of several TYLA committees since 2009. As the TYLA director who demonstrated outstanding leadership, Sharma was the 2011 recipient of the TYLA Joseph M. Pritchard Inn Outstanding Director of the Year Award. She also serves on the House of Delegates of the Arkansas Bar Association, and received the Arkansas Bar Association’s Lawyer Community Legacy Award for her dedication to public service in 2009. She led the Texarkana Young Lawyers Association to secure TYLA’s First Place Comprehensive, the Arkansas Bar Association’s Outstanding Bar, and the American Bar Association’s Second Place Comprehensive awards during her presidency. Sharma is a Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation. She received her J.D. from Baylor Law School and her B.A. from the University of Central Florida.

Kristy Sims Piazza is an associate of KoonsFuller, P.C. in Plano, where she practices family law. She has served on the TYLA board since 2008 and currently serves as TYLA vice president. Piazza served as TYLA secretary from 2010-11 and has served as an executive committee advisor, vice-chair and co-chair of several TYLA committees. In recognition of her outstanding service to TYLA, she was a 2009 recipient of TYLA's President's Award of Merit. Piazza is also very involved with public service in her community and in 2011, she was honored as one of the Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program's most active pro bono attorneys. She has served on the board of directors of the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers, the Collin County Young Lawyers Association and the Collin County Bench Bar Foundation. In 2011, she served as chair of the Collin County Bench Bar Conference. She received her J.D. from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law and her B.A. from the University of North Texas.

Election results will be announced May 1. The president-elect will serve as TYLA president from June 2013 until June 2014.

TYLA, widely recognized as the public service arm of the State Bar of Texas, develops programs designed to assist Texas attorneys in the practice of law and provides legal education to Texans as a public service. TYLA’s main purposes are to facilitate the administration of justice, foster respect for the law, and advance the role of the legal profession in serving the public. All licensed Texas attorneys who are 36 years old or younger or who are in their first five years of licensure regardless of age, are automatically members of TYLA.

# # #

Media Note:  Photos available on request.

State Bar of Texas  |  1414 Colorado St.  |  Austin, Texas 78701