State Bar of Texas
June 21, 2011

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Lubbock Individuals Honored by State Bar of Texas

SAN ANTONIO – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 23-24 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio.

The following Lubbock individuals are among those being honored:

Carolyn Moore, Certificate of Merit, presented by the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors and past presidents for outstanding contributions to the legal profession. Moore is a past chair of the Women and the Law Section and currently serves as newsletter editor, secretary of the Workers’ Compensation Section, council member of the Government Lawyers Section, and past chair and council member of the Individual Rights and Responsibilities Section. She is a sustaining life fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation, past president of the Lubbock County Bar Association, a mentor to five protégés, and a State Bar College Endowment Fund Scholar.

Wendy Humphrey, President’s Award of Merit, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Humphrey co-coaches the ABA National Negotiation Team and is being honored for her work in TYLA’s State Moot Court and National Trial Competitions, and for her involvement in the Law Student Division, guiding and mentoring law students.

Donald M. Hunt, Outstanding 50-Year Lawyer Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award recognizes attorneys whose practice spans 50 years or more, and who adhere to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

# # #

State Bar of Texas  |  1414 Colorado St.  |  Austin, Texas 78701