State Bar of Texas
June 21, 2011

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Valley Area Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

SAN ANTONIO – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 23-24 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio.

The following individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

Eduardo R. Rodriguez of Brownsville, Pro Bono Service Award, presented by the Bankruptcy Law Section. Rodriguez is a past president of the State Bar of Texas.

Rebecca Vela of McAllen, President’s Award, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Vela is being honored for her leadership role in directing the State Moot Court competition, and helping organize the Annual Bar Leaders Conference to support local young lawyer affiliates. Vela led the effort to create radio and television public service announcements for “The Little Voice – Recognizing Child Abuse and Your Duty to Report It.” The PSAs, available in English and Spanish, have been played in markets statewide.

Jesus E. Amaya of Los Fresnos, Honorary Leon Jaworski Award for Teaching Excellence.

Hidalgo County Bar Association, Outstanding Partnership Award for its holiday food and toy drives, as well as a Stars of Texas Bars Award of Merit.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

# # #

State Bar of Texas  |  1414 Colorado St.  |  Austin, Texas 78701