State Bar of Texas
June 21, 2011

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Texarkana Lawyer Honored by Texas Young Lawyers Association

SAN ANTONIO – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 23-24 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio.

Shivali Sharma of Texarkana will be presented with the Joseph M. Pritchard Inn Outstanding Director Award by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Sharma is a staff attorney for the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals and has served on the TYLA board for two years. She is being honored for presenting curriculum projects to students and community members in Texarkana and was instrumental in partnering with the Annette Strauss Institute at the University of Texas in creating Turning Points, a project focused on educating high school students through film about the legal framework surrounding the country’s most interesting topics of debate. Sharma also edited consumer education pamphlets and TYLA’s eNews.

The Joseph M. Pritchard Inn of former and current officers and directors of the Texas Young Lawyers Association was established in 1979 in honor of the late Joseph M. Pritchard, a former TYLA director and active civic leader. The Inn is pledged to support the programs and objectives of TYLA and annually presents the award to the TYLA director who has shown outstanding leadership and exemplary efforts to further the projects and purposes of the organization.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

# # #

State Bar of Texas  |  1414 Colorado St.  |  Austin, Texas 78701