State Bar of Texas
June 24, 2008

Contact: Kim Davey, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Galveston Individuals Honored by State Bar of Texas

(Austin) – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, June 26-27, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

The following Galveston individuals are among those being honored: Kelly-Ann Clarke, President's Award of Merit, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Clarke, who was the recipient of the TYLA President's Award last year, is honored for her exemplary contributions to the creation of two new projects: Justice 101: A Client's Guide to Litigation, and Safeguarding Our Seniors: Recognizing and Reporting Elder Abuse. Clarke also holds a leadership position in the American Bar Association Young Lawyer Division.

Carolyn B. Goff, Outstanding Chair Award, presented by the Paralegal Division.

Steven C. Salch, Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer, presented by the Taxation Section.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.