State Bar of Texas
April 15, 2009

Contact: Kim Davey, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

State Bar of Texas Honors Area Judges and Lawyers as Bar Board Meets in Fort Worth

(Fort Worth) – State Bar of Texas President Harper Estes and President-elect Roland Johnson, in conjunction with a meeting of the Bar's board of directors Friday in Fort Worth, will present resolutions honoring:

Judge Dixon W. Holman of Arlington for 50 years of dedicated service to the legal profession, the judiciary and the State of Texas;

Judge Fred W. Davis of Arlington for his many professional achievements and outstanding service;

Sharon K. Sherman of Bedford for outstanding efforts in providing pro bono legal assistance to indigent people;

A memorial resolution honoring James Bruce Barlow of Fort Worth;

A memorial resolution honoring Jeffrey Scott Kubes of Fort Worth;

The 25th anniversary of the Texas IOLTA (Interest on Lawyers' Trust Accounts) program, a primary funding source of civil legal aid for low-income Texans.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas. The Bar provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.