For Lawyers

Guardianship Ad Litem Certification
(for attorneys only)

Steps for Certification

The following information outlines the process to become eligible to be appointed an attorney ad litem in Texas Courts under Tex. Estates Code §1054.201.*

  1. You must complete a State Bar-approved training course for guardianship ad litem. Search for a class in our CLE database: you may also complete approved self-study tapes and DVDs.
  2. Once your approved training has been completed, download and print out the appropriate affidavit below:
    MCLE Affidavit for General CLE Course [PDF]
    MCLE Affidavit for DVD/Videotaped Self-Study Course [PDF]
  3. Complete and mail your affidavit, including a $25 processing fee, to the MCLE department (see address below). Faxed copies of affidavit will not be processed.
  4. Once we receive your affidavit and $25 fee, we will add you to our database of lawyers and mail you your certificate.

You will be certified for an initial two (2) year period. Once you have been certified for two (2) consecutive two year periods, you will then be certified for four (4) years.*

Guardianship Ad Litem Database

Certified Guardianship Ad Litem Attorneys: Please use this database to search for a certified ad litem attorney.

FAQS

Is Guardianship certification a function of MCLE?
The MCLE Department keeps records of certified attorneys but certification is not a function of the MCLE program. Ad litem certification training is approved for MCLE credit and can be used toward MCLE compliance.

How long is the certification period?
The initial certification period is two-year period beginning on the date of issuance of the certificate. An attorney can receive a four-year certificate once he/she has been certified for two consecutive two-year terms.

What training courses qualify for Guardianship Certification?
Approved training courses meet the requirement outlined in Tex. Govt. Code §81.114. Sponsors of training courses should request review and approved by writing to the Director of MCLE.

Are there self-study tapes/DVDs available for completing the training?
Yes. You can check with your local county bar association or visit TexasBarCLE to access courses.

Can an attorney fax an affidavit of completion to receive a certificate?
No. The State Bar requires an original signature on the affidavit and a $25 processing fee.

Contact Us

If you still have questions after certification or renewal, please contact us.

Address

State Bar of Texas
MCLE Department
P.O. Box 13007
Austin, Texas 78711-3007

Email

mcle@texasbar.com

Phone

800.204-2222 (ext. 1806)

Fax
512.427.4423

Footnotes:

* Tx. Estates Code, Subchapter E, Sec. 1054.201-203 [PDF]

{Back to top}

Article Options

Skip Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Information

State Bar College

The State Bar College recognizes Texas lawyers who attend at least double the Continuing Legal Education (CLE) required by the State Bar of Texas.

Report Your MCLE Hours

Report your MCLE hours on My Bar Page.

Find a Colleague

Search below to find a lawyer near you.

Use our advanced search.