Texas Lawyers Auxiliary

The Texas Lawyers Auxiliary is dedicated to supporting the State Bar of Texas and the Texas legal profession while promoting an understanding and appreciation of the American legal system through law-related education, citizenship, and public service advocacy.


Membership is available as an affiliate, individual, and associate. Please join us! For more information, contact Membership VP, Martha Ann Franco, at mafrancotx@sbcglobal.net.

Calendar of Events

2014 Texas Lawyers Auxiliary Meeting

Thursday, June 26, 2014
9:00 a.m.
Hilton Austin - Room 402
There will be no breakfast offered at our TLA meeting on Thursday morning, so please eat before you come! There will be water and coffee available. There is a complimentary breakfast available from the State Bar of Texas at the Convention Center across the street from the hotel that you can enjoy. Please remember to bring 20 copies of your reports to hand out. Don't forget to bring new children's books for the TLA booth.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014
The Austin Lawyers Auxiliary will be sponsoring a cocktail party for the TLA members at the home of Joette and Gary Reger from 7:00-9:00 p.m. More details are available by emailing joreger@msn.com. If you need a ride to the cocktail party, remember to be in the Hilton Austin Hotel lobby by 6:30 p.m.

2013 Fall Board Meeting of Texas Lawyer Auxiliary

Sunday, October 6, 2013
6:00 pm - meet in the Bar of the Doubletree Suites by Hilton-Austin if you would like to meet and visit a little before dinner. Our Teacher of the Year, Helen Bradley, will be there. Cash Bar.

6:30 pm - Texas Lawyers Auxiliary Teacher of the Year Award Dinner
The Houston Room
Doubletree Suites by Hilton
303 15th Street   
Austin, 78701

Monday, October 7, 2013
9:00 am - TLA Fall Board Meeting
State Bar of Texas - Texas Law Center Building
1414 Colorado
Austin, 78701
Breakfast and box lunch provided. 
You may fill out a reservation form [PDF] send it in. Your check and one copy of the form goes to:
Tina Gwinn
3427 Asbury Street
Dallas, TX  75205

Please make another copy of the reservation form [PDF] and mail it to:

Kathy Redden
2213 B Nantucket Drive
Houston, TX  77057

You can park at the Doubletree suites. The day self-parking rate is $10, and there is valet parking as well. You get a parking ticket at the front desk, and you pay when you leave before you get your car. Jennifer Benesh will also try to arrange for some reserved parking at the parking meters outside the Law Center. Please let Kathy Redden know if you would like to have one because you have lots to unload or have special needs.
2013 Texas Lawyer Auxiliary Annual Meeting

TLA Board members met in Dallas June 20 and 21 at the Hilton Anatole Hotel.
Keynote speaker Senator John Cornyn was attended by hundreds of State Bar members as well as State Bar Auxiliary members from around the state of Texas. TLA held their Annual Meeting in conjunction with the 2013 State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting.

Please contact 2013-2014 TLA President, Kathleen Redden, at Kathyredden2213@gmail.com for information on joining our group or with questions regarding the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting. 

Officers and Directors

2012-2013 TLA Executive Board2012-2013 TLA Executive Board

2013-2014 Executive Board of Directors

President - Kathy Redden
President-Elect - Rita Thompson (Mrs. Robert S.)
VP Membership - Martha Ann Franco (Mrs. John R.)
VP Communication - Rhonda Jefferson
VP Convention - Joette Reger (Mrs. Gary) and Jennifer Benesh (Mrs. Stephen)
VP Projects - June McManus
Recording Secretary - Patricia Adams
Corresponding Secretary - Jan Lamoreaux (Mrs. Bill)
Treasurer - Tina Gwinn (Mrs. Stephen W.)
Parliamentarian - Melissa Richard
Immediate Past President - Lucy Harrison (Mrs. Guy N.)

2013-2014 Directors at Large 

Lisa M. Tatum, President of the State Bar Of Texas - San Antonio
Kristy Piazza Blanchard, President of the Texas Young Lawyers Association - Plano
Mona Blocker Garcia - Marfa
Earlene Garland - Lubbock
Diane Kyker - Austin
Nancy Relyea - Dallas
Lana Wilson - Austin

2013-2014 Standing Committee Chairs 
Advisory Committee Chair - Sue Bennett
Advisory Committee Member - Grace Ann Vanderpool
Advisory Committee Member - Lucy Harrison
Advisory Committee Member - Joette Reger
American Lawyers Alliance Liaison - Mary Ellen Borgelt
Awards - Grace Ann Vanderpool
Bylaws - Jane Larkin
Archives - Anne Maxwell
Celebrations and Smiles - Janey Pettiette
Finance, Permanent Advisor - Judy Troy
Finance Vice Chair - Tina Gwinn
Future Planning - Lucy Harrison
History and Traditions - Mary Ellen Borgelt
Law Focused Education - Stephanie Whitehurst
Memorials, Tributes and Scholarship Fund - Jaquie Rothermel
Nominating Committee - Lucy Harrison
Now You Are 18 - Marianne Gwin
Operations Co-Chair - Jennifer Benesh
Operations Co-Chair - Nicky Duewall
Yearbook - Martha Ann Franco
Your Legal Rights - Carolyn Clark
Website - Joette Reger

Teacher of the Year Award

2011 TOY Winner Patience LeBlanc2011 Teacher of the Year Award Winner, Patience LeBlanc

This award honors public and private high school teachers in Texas who have made significant contributions in law-related education, developing and supporting programs which enhance awareness of legal rights and the American legal system. Candidates may be nominated by teachers or principals. The 2013 entry deadline is June 15, 2013. Download the application. If you have questions, please contact: Rita (Mrs. Robert S.) Thompson, thompsonr234@aol.com.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes a member who, over an extended period of time, has shown exemplary dedication to the Texas Lawyers' Auxiliary by accepting positions of leadership and objectives, continuing support of the Texas Lawyers' Auxiliary, displaying an attitude that encourages an interchange of ideas, communicating the objectives of TLA, and encouraging its programs on a local and state level. The 2014 entry deadline is March 3, 2014. Download the requirements.


Local Lawyers' Auxiliaries and Affiliate Directors

Austin Lawyers' Auxiliary

Anne Winckler, President

Austin Bar AuxiliaryNicky Duewall, Vice President-Scholarship, Scholarship Recipient Louisa Gambrill, Treasurer, Anne Winckler, and Linda Richards, Austin Bar Auxiliary President

Dallas Lawyers' Auxiliary

Pam Musgrove, President, Dallas Lawyers' Auxiliary

Houston Bar Association Auxiliary

Annette Duggan (Mrs. Lee)
Sherryl Durkee, Vice President/TLA Representative

Read the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary Spring 2012 newsletter.

Houston Bar Association Auxiliary2012-2013 Executive Board

Jefferson County Bar Auxiliary

Joette Reger (Mrs. Gary)

San Antonio Bar Auxiliary

Jaquie Rothermel (Mrs. John F.)

Waco McLennan County

Frances Olsen (Mrs. Landon)
Dorothy Bates (Mrs. John L., Jr.)


{Back to top}